Skip to Content
Report an accessibility problem
People

People

People

Center leadership

Leah Gerber
Founding Director, Center for Biodiversity Outcomes, Global Institute of Sustainability and Innovation
Leah.Gerber@asu.edu
480-727-3109
Gwen Iacona
Assistant Research Professor, School of Life Sciences, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
Gwen.Iacona@asu.edu
480-965-6419

Center administration

Nellisabel Coira
Adminisrative Assistant, Center for Biodiversity Outcomes, Global Institute of Sustainability and Innovation
Katherine Poe
Program Manager, Center for Biodiversity Outcomes, Global Institute of Sustainability and Innovation
kmpoe2@asu.edu

Administrative and communications interns

Baylie Alley
Administrative and Communications Intern, Center for Biodiversity Outcomes, Global Institute of Sustainability and Innovation
bmalley@asu.edu
Aayushi Parikh
Administrative and Communications Intern, Center for BIodiversity Outcomes, Global Institute of Sustainability and Innovation
atpark1@asu.edu
Kourtney St. Clair
Administrative and Communications Intern, Center for Biodiversity Outcomes, Global Institute of Sustainability and Innovation
kmstclai@asu.edu

Program leads

Rebecca Muenich
Assistant Professor, School of Sustainable Engineering and the Built Environment, Ira A. Fulton Schools of Engineering
rebecca.muenich@asu.edu
480-965-1077
Beckett Sterner
Assistant Professor, School of Life Sciences, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
Beckett.Sterner@asu.edu
480-727-7881
Beth Polidoro
Associate Professor, School of Mathematical and Natural Sciences, New College of Interdisciplinary Arts and Sciences
Beth.Polidoro@asu.edu
602-543-5686
Caitlin Otten
Assistant Professor, School of Human Evolution and Social Change, The College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
Caitlin.Drummond@asu.edu
215-779-8919
Candice Carr Kelman
Assistant Clinical Professor, School of Sustainability, College of Global Futures
Candice.Carr.Kelman@asu.edu
480-965-4460
Gwen Iacona
Assistant Research Professor, School of Life Sciences, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
Gwen.Iacona@asu.edu
480-965-6419
Kailin Kroetz
Assistant Professor, School of Sustainability, College of Global Futures
kkroetz@asu.edu
480-965-4164
Katie Cramer
Program Lead for Coral Reef Conservation, Center for Biodiversity Outcomes, Global Institute of Sustainability and Innovation
Katie.Cramer@asu.edu

Research faculty

Candice Carr Kelman
Assistant Clinical Professor, School of Sustainability, College of Global Futures
Candice.Carr.Kelman@asu.edu
480-965-4460
Katie Cramer
Program Lead for Coral Reef Conservation, Center for Biodiversity Outcomes, Global Institute of Sustainability and Innovation
Katie.Cramer@asu.edu
Jack Kittinger
Research Professor, School of Sustainability, College of Global Futures
jkittinger@conservation.org

Affiliated faculty

Joshua Abbott
Professor, School of Sustainability, College of Global Futures
Joshua.K.Abbott@asu.edu
480-965-5528
Kenneth Abbott
Jack E Brown Professor of Law Emeritus, Sandra Day O'Connor College of Law
Ken.Abbott@asu.edu
480-965-5917
Joni Adamson
President's Professor, Environmental Humanities, Department of English, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
joni.adamson@asu.edu
480-727-3675
Rimjhim Aggarwal
Associate Professor, School of Sustainability, College of Global Futures
Rimjhim.Aggarwal@asu.edu
480-965-6680
Ariel Anbar
Professor, School of Earth and Space Exploration, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
anbar@asu.edu
480-965-0767
Kathleen Andereck
Director and Professor, School of Community Resources and Development, Watts College of Public Service and Community Solutions
kandereck@asu.edu
602-496-1056
Michael Angilletta
President's Professor, School of Life Sciences, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
angilletta@asu.edu
480-965-3500
Becky Ball
Associate Professor, School of Mathematical and Natural Sciences, New College of Interdisciplinary Arts and Sciences
Becky.Ball@asu.edu
602-543-2010
Michael Barton
Professor of Anthropology, School of Human Evolution and Social Change, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
michael.barton@asu.edu
480-965-6262
Heather Bateman
Associate Professor, Faculty of Science and Mathematics, College of Integrative Sciences and Arts
heather.l.bateman@asu.edu
480-727-1131
Ira Bennett
Associate Director for Research, School for the Future of Innovation in Society, College of Global Futures
Ira.Bennett@asu.edu
480-727-8830
Nadya Bliss
Director, Global Security Initiative
nadya.bliss@asu.edu
480-727-8313
Christopher Boone
Dean, College of Global Futures
Christopher.G.Boone@asu.edu
480-965-2236
Karen Bradshaw
Professor of Law, Sandra Day O'Connor College of Law
kbradshaw@asu.edu
480-727-0616
Bryan Brayboy
President’s Professor and Borderlands Professor of Indigenous Education and Justice, School of Social Transformation, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
Bryan.Brayboy@asu.edu
480-965-1997
Alexandra Brewis-Slade
President's Professor, School of Human Evolution and Social Change, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
alex.brewis@asu.edu
480-727-9879
Ronald Broglio
Associate Professor, Department of English, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
Ronald.Broglio@asu.edu
Sara Brownell
Affiliated Faculty, Center for Biodiversity Outcomes, Global Institute of Sustainability and Innovation
Sara.Brownell@asu.edu
Megha Budruk
Associate Professor, Parks and Recreation Program, School of Community Resources and Development
Megha.Budruk@asu.edu
602-496-0171
Shauna BurnSilver
Assistant Professor, School of Human Evolution and Social Change, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
Shauna.BurnSilver@asu.edu
480-965-7671
Peter Byck
Professor of Practice, School of Sustainability, College of Global Futures
Peter.Byck@asu.edu
K. Selcuk Candan
Professor, School of Computing, Informatics and Decision Systems Engineering, Ira A. Fulton Schools of Engineering
kasim.candan@asu.edu
480-965-2770
Netra Chhetri
Associate Professor, School for the Future of Innovation in Society, College of Global Futures
Netra.Chhetri@asu.edu
480-727 0747
Daniel Collins
Senior Global Futures Scholar, Julie Ann Wrigley Global Futures Laboratory
dan.collins@asu.edu
480-206-2037
James Collins
Virginia M. Ullman Professor of Natural History and the Environment, School of Life Sciences, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
jcollins@asu.edu
480-965-4578
Paul Coseo
Assistant Professor, The Design School, Herberger Institute for Design and the Arts
Paul.Coseo@asu.edu
Michael Crow
President, Arizona State University
Michael.Crow@asu.edu
Maria Cruz-Torres
Associate Professor, School of Transborder Studies, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
maria.cruz-torres@asu.edu
480-965-8483
Nicole Darnall
Director and Co-founder, Sustainable Purchasing Research Initiative
ndarnall@asu.edu
Thomas Day
Professor, School of Life Sciences, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
tadday@asu.edu
480-965-8165
Dale DeNardo
Affiliated Faculty, Center for Biodiversity Outcomes, Global Institute of Sustainability and Innovation
denardo@asu.edu
480-965-3325
Tyler DesRoches
Associate Professor, School of Sustainability, College of Global Futures
tyler.desroches@asu.edu
480-727-3273
Pierre Deviche
Professor, School of Life Sciences, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
pierre.deviche@asu.edu
480-965-0726
Gary Dirks
Senior Director, Julie Ann Wrigley Global Futures Laboratory and LightWorks®
garydirks@asu.edu
480-889-4820
Kevin Dooley
Chief Research Scientist, The Sustainability Consortium, Global Institute of Sustainability and Innovation
Kevin.Dooley@asu.edu
480-965-6833
Lindy Elkins-Tanton
Managing Director, Interplanetary Initiative, and Principal Investigator of Psyche mission
ltelkins@asu.edu
480-727-2451
Mahmud Farooque
Clinical Associate Professor, School for the Future of Innovation in Society, College of Global Futures
Mahmud.Farooque@asu.edu
202-446-0397
Michelle Fehler
Clinical Assistant Professor, The Design School, Herberger Institute for Design and the Arts
michelle.fehler@asu.edu
480-965-3536
Nico Franz
Virginia M. Ullman Professor of Ecology, School of Life Sciences, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
Nico.Franz@asu.edu
480-965-2036
Amy Frazier
Assistant Professor, School of Geographical Sciences and Urban Planning, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
Amy.Frazier@asu.edu
Ferran Garcia-Pichel
Regents Professor, School of Life Sciences, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
Ferran@asu.edu
480-727-7534
Matei Georgescu
Director, Urban Climate Research Center
Matei.Georgescu@asu.edu
480-727-5986
Heather Green
Assistant Professor, School of Art, Herberger Institute for Design and the Arts
Heather.J.Green@asu.edu
480-727-3489
Nancy Grimm
Regents Professor, School of Life Sciences, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
nbgrimm@asu.edu
480-965-4735
David Guston
Associate Vice Provost for Discovery, Engagement and Outcomes, Julie Ann Wrigley Global Futures Laboratory
david.guston@asu.edu
480-727-8829
Rolf Halden
Director, Center for Environmental Health Engineering, Biodesign Institute
Rolf.Halden@asu.edu
480-727-0893
Allyce Hargrove
Clinical Assistant Professor, The Design School, Herberger Institute for Design and the Arts
allyce.hargrove@asu.edu
Jon Harrison
Affiliated Faculty, Center for Biodiversity Outcomes, Global Institute of Sustainability and Innovation
j.harrison@asu.edu
480-965-9459
Hilairy Hartnett
Professor, School of Earth and Space Exploration, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
H.Hartnett@asu.edu
480-965-5593
Arjun Heimsath
Professor, School of Earth and Space Exploration, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
Arjun.Heimsath@asu.edu
480-965-5585
Ana Hurtado
Fellow, American Academy of Arts and Sciences
amhurtad@asu.edu
Marco Janssen
Professor, School of Sustainability, College of Global Futures
Marco.Janssen@asu.edu
480-727-7067
Lekelia Jenkins
Associate Professor, School for the Future of Innovation in Society, College of Global Futures
Kiki.Jenkins@asu.edu
Petar Jevtic
Assistant Professor, School of Mathematical and Statistical Sciences, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
Petar.Jevtic@asu.edu
Ann Kinzig
Professor, School of Life Sciences, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
Ann.Kinzig@asu.edu
480-965-6838
Yang Kuang
Affiliated Faculty, Center for Biodiversity Outcomes, Global Institute of Sustainability and Innovation
480-965-6915
Ying-Cheng Lai
Professor, School of Electrical, Computer and Energy Engineering, Ira A. Fulton Schools of Engineering
Ying-Cheng.Lai@asu.edu
480-965-6668
Dale Larsen
Director of Community Relations and Professor of Practice, School of Community Resources and Development, Watts College of Public Service and Community Solutions
Dale.Larsen@asu.edu
602-496-0422
Ross Maciejewski
Affiliated Faculty, Center for Biodiversity Outcomes, Global Institute of Sustainability and Innovation
rmacieje@asu.edu
Jane Maienschein
Regents Professor, President's Professor and Parent's Association Professor, School of Life Sciences, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
maienschein@asu.edu
480 965-6105
David Manuel-Navarrete
Associate Professor, School of Sustainability, College of Global Futures
davidmn@asu.edu
Nathan Martin
Affiliated Faculty, Center for Biodiversity Outcomes, Global Institute of Sustainability and Innovation
ndm@asu.edu
480-727-9970
Kevin McGraw
Affiliated Faculty, Center for Biodiversity Outcomes, Global Institute of Sustainability and Innovation
Kevin.McGraw@asu.edu
Rob Melnick
Director, International Programs, School of Sustainability, College of Global Futures
Rob.Melnick@asu.edu
480-965-5233
Clark Miller
Associate Director for Faculty and Professor, School for the Future of Innovation in Society, College of Global Futures
clark.miller@asu.edu
480-965-1778
Ben Minteer
Arizona Zoological Society Endowed Chair Professor of Environmental Ethics and Conservation, School of Life Sciences, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
ben.minteer@asu.edu
480-965-4632
Soe Myint
Professor, School of Geographical Sciences and Urban Planning, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
soe.myint@asu.edu
480-965-6514
Garth Paine
Senior Global Futures Scientist, Julie Ann Wrigley Global Futures Laboratory
garth.paine@asu.edu
480-965-0972
Joel Palka
Associate Professor, School of Human Evolution and Social Change
Joel.Palka@asu.edu
Mary Jane Parmentier
Clinical Associate Professor, School for the Future of Innovation in Society, College of Global Futures
MJ.Parmentier@asu.edu
480-727-4518
Theodore Pavlic
Assistant Professor, School of Sustainability, College of Global Futures
tpavlic@asu.edu
480-965-2899
Charles Perrings
Emeritus Professor, School of Life Sciences, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
charles.perrings@asu.edu
480-727-0472
Tyler Peterson
Assistant Professor, Department of English, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
t.peterson@asu.edu
480-727-9127
Darren Petrucci
Suncor Professor of Architecture and Urban Design, The Design School, Herberger Institute for Design and the Arts
darren.petrucci@asu.edu
480-965-9400
Stephen Pratt
Associate Professor, School of Life Sciences, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
stephen.pratt@asu.edu
480-727-9425
Charles Redman
Founding Director, School of Sustainability, College of Global Futures
charles.redman@asu.edu
480-965-2923
Osvaldo Sala
Founding Director, Global Drylands Center, Global Institute of Sustainability and Innovation
Osvaldo.Sala@asu.edu
480-965-4120
Steven Saul
Affiliated Faculty, Center for Biodiversity Outcomes, Global Institute of Sustainability and Innovation
Steven.Saul@asu.edu
480-965-6534
Gerrit Schipper III
Co-Chair, IUCN SSC Small Carnivore Specialist Group
jan.schipper@asu.edu
Kimberly Scott
Professor of Women and Gender Studies, School of Social Transformation, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
Kimberly.A.Scott@asu.edu
480-965-5380
Everett Shock
Professor, School of Earth and Space Exploration, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
everett.shock@asu.edu
480-965-0631
Brian Smith
Affiliated Faculty, Center for Biodiversity Outcomes, Global Institute of Sustainability and Innovation
BrianHSmith@asu.edu
480-727-0655
Brian Sullivan
Professor, Mathematics and Natural Sciences, New College of Interdisciplinary Arts and Sciences
brian.sullivan@asu.edu
602-543-6022
Tod Swanson
Associate Professor of Religious Studies, School of Historical, Philosophical and Religious Studies, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
tod.swanson@asu.edu
480-965-4057
Heather Throop
Associate Professor, School of Earth and Space Exploration, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
Heather.Throop@asu.edu
480-727-2617
Billie Turner II
Regents Professor, School of Sustainability, College of Global Futures
Billie.L.Turner@asu.edu
480-965-1535
Sander van der Leeuw
Director, Center for Biosocial Complex Systems, Arizona State University-Sante Fe Institute
vanderle@asu.edu
480-965-6214
Enrique Vivoni
Professor, School of Earth and Space Exploration, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
vivoni@asu.edu
480-727-3575
Paul Westerhoff
Regents' Professor, School of Sustainable Engineering and the Built Environment, Ira A. Fulton Schools of Engineering
p.westerhoff@asu.edu
480-965-2885
Christopher Wharton
Associate Professor of Nutrition, College of Health Solutions
christopher.wharton@asu.edu
602-496-1727
Dave White
Director, Global Institute of Sustainability and Innovation
Dave.White@asu.edu
480-727-9234
Jianguo Wu
Dean's Distinguished Professor, School of Life Science, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences, and School of Sustainabilty, College of Global Futures
Jingle.Wu@asu.edu
602-543-6240
Amber Wutich
President's Professor, School of Human Evolution and Social Change, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
Amber.Wutich@asu.edu
480-965-9010
Abigail York
Professor and Director of Graduate Studies, School of Human Evolution and Social Change, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
Abigail.York@asu.edu
480-727-6889

External affiliates

Jorge Ahumada
Conservation International-Center for Biodiversity Outcomes Professor of Practice, Center for Biodiversity Outcomes, Global Institute of Sustainability and Innovation
jorge.ahumada@asu.edu
Maria José Barragan
Science Director, Charles Darwin Research Station
Duan Biggs
Associate Professor and Olajos-Goslow Chair of Environmental Science and Policy, School of Earth and Sustainability, Northern Arizona University
Ashton Drew
Owner and Lead Consultant, KDV Decision Analysis LLC
David Hole
Former Conservation International-Center for Biodiversity Outcomes Professor of Practice, Center for Biodiversity Outcomes, Global Institute of Sustainability and Innovation
Miroslav Honzak
Former Conservation International-Center for Biodiversity Professor of Practice, Center for Biodiversity Outcomes, Global Institute of Sustainability and Innovation
Timothy Male
Executive Director, Environmental Policy Innovation Center
tmale@policyinnovation.org
Michael Mascia
Senior Vice President, Moore Center for Science, Conservation International
Jennifer Morris
Chief Executive Officer, The Nature Conservancy
Rachel Neugarten
Director, Conservation Priority Setting, Betty and Gordon Moore Center for Science, Conservation International
Rosimeiry Portela
Former Conservation International-Center for Biodiversity Outcomes Professor of Practice, Center for Biodiversity Outcomes, Global Institute of Sustainability and Innovation
rosimeiry.portela@asu.edu
Daniela Raik
Senior Vice President and Managing Director, Betty and Gordon Moore Center for Science, Conservation International
M Sanjayan
Conservation International-Center for Biodiversity Outcomes Distinguished Professor of Practice, Center for Biodiversity Outcomes, Global Institute of Sustainability and Innovation
Percy Summers
Former Conservation International-Center for Biodiversity Outcomes Professor of Practice, Center for Biodiversity Outcomes, Global Institute of Sustainability and Innovation
pmsummer@asu.edu