Skip to Content
Report an accessibility problem

Sustainability Events

Examining 50 years of the Endangered Species Act

Keynote speakers

Martha Williams, Director of U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service
Janet Coit, NOAA Assistant Fisheries Administrator
Joe Neguse, U.S. Representative
Don Beyer, U.S. Representative

Panel on successes and importance of the ESA

Moderator: Tom Sisk, Professor Emeritus, Northern Arizona University
Samuel Penney, Councilmember, Nez Perce Tribal Executive Committee
Tiana Williams-Claussen, Director, Yurok Tribe Wildlife Department
Danielle Moser, Wildlife Program Manager, Oregon Wild
Melanie Sturm, Forests & Wildlife Director, Natural Resources Council of Maine

Panel on Endangered Species Act challenges, including inadequate congressional funding and the biodiversity crisis

Moderator: Lindsay Rosa, Vice President of Conservation Research and Innovation, Defenders of Wildlife
Leah Gerber, Founding Director and Professor, Center for Biodiversity Outcomes, Arizona State University
Jacob Malcom, Director of the Office of Policy Analysis, Department of the Interior
Laura Melissa Guzman, Assistant Professor, University of Southern California

Symposium Reception

U.S. Representative Jared Huffman and other Senators and Congressman will give remarks.

Tuesday, September 12, 2023
2-5 p.m. - ESA Symposium Invitation.

5:15 p.m. – Symposium Reception begins in the Atrium immediately outside the Auditorium.

Wednesday, September 13, 2023
6 p.m. – ESA Awards Reception at the Library of Congress.