Skip to Content
Report an accessibility problem





Arizona State University leads the Center for Efficient Vehicles and Sustainable Transportation Systems (EVSTS), a National Science Foundation (NSF) awarded effort to engage automotive companies in researching vehicle energy efficiency and environmental sustainability. The EVSTS center, launched in 2016 through the NSF’s Industry-University Cooperative Research Center program, is a collaborative effort between Arizona State University, The University of Alabama, University of Louisville, and The University of Texas at Austin. The center’s industry-relevant research program aims to yield transformational improvements in the energy efficiency and environmental sustainability of ground vehicles -- specifically passenger cars, trucks, and motorized nonroad equipment. Its research program encompasses vehicle-level technologies and transportation system infrastructure, reflecting the complexity and global nature of the automotive and ground transportation industries.
The center is a blend of academic, industrial, and government partners who work together to engage in applied, pre-competitive research in five technical focus areas: 1) electrified vehicle powertrains, 2) conventional powertrains and alternative fuels, 3) non-powertrain vehicle systems optimization, 4) efficient / sustainable autonomous vehicles, and 5) transportation systems and infrastructure. In addition to its central research mission, the EVSTS Center has ambitious goals to engage underrepresented groups in vehicle-related engineering and technology areas; improve automotive industry education, professional development, and workforce training; and increase the economic competitiveness of the United States in this critical industry. Target industry members include major stakeholders in the automotive/ground transportation industry, including original equipment vehicle manufacturers, component and system suppliers, energy providers, fleet operators, infrastructure and service providers, industry associations, local and state governments, and federal research laboratories.


National Science Foundation, Division of Industrial Innovations & Partnerships


July 2016 — March 2027