Skip to Content

Steering Committee

Steering Committee Members

The SCN Steering Committee is comprised of leading municipal, county and/or tribal representatives from around Arizona and Arizona State University experts actively pursuing sustainability, resilience and/or climate change initiatives. Through collective discussion, the Committee is responsible for sharing best practices, encouraging collaborative action, and guiding the discussions, initiatives, and desired outcomes of the overall Network and associated workgroups.

SCN is an outreach and education program of the ASU’s Global Futures Laboratory and the Global Institute of Sustainability and Innovation.

Danae Presler

Danae Presler, City of Avondale

is the Sustainability Officer for the .

Steve Turner, City of Chandler

Steve Turner is Assistant to the City Manager at the .

Nicole Antonopoulos

Nicole Antonopoulos, City of Flagstaff

is the Sustainability Manager for the .
Joanne Toms

Joanne Toms, City of Glendale

is the Environmental Programs Manager for the .

Scott Bouchie and Laura Hyneman, City of Mesa

Scott BouchieScott Bouchie is the Director of the Environmental Management and Sustainability Department at the

is the Deputy Director of the Environmental Management and Sustainability Department at the .

Daniel Kiel

Daniel Kiel and Victoria Caster, City of Peoria

is the Planning and Engineering Manager of the Water Services Department for the .
Victoria Caster is the Sustainability and Water Conservation Coordinator for the .
Mark Hartman

Mark Hartman, City of Phoenix

is the Chief Sustainability Officer for the .
Tim Conner

Tim Conner, City of Scottsdale

Tim Conner is the Environmental Initiatives Manager at the .
Bonnie Richardson

Bonnie Richardson and Braden Kay, City of Tempe

is the Principal Planner for the .
Braden Kay is the Director of Sustainability for the .

Daniel Bursuck and Fátima Luna, City of Tucson


is the Environmental and Sustainability Advisor to Tucson Mayor Regina Romero.

Daniel Bursuck is the Principal Planner for the City of Tucson.
Chris McAbee

Chris McAbee and Phil McNeely, Maricopa County

Chris McAbee is the Sustainability Manager for .
Phil McNeely is the Director of the .

Patricia Reiter and Nalini Chhetri, Arizona State University

is Director of Strategic Initiatives for ASU’s Global Futures Laboratory.

is a Senior Sustainability Scientist within the Arizona State University School of Sustainability and Faculty within ASU’s School for the Future of Innovation in Society.

Sustainable Cities Network Staff

is the Director for ASU’s Sustainable Cities Network and for Project Cities.